Don’t Open The Door

I write all of the time 

But its not always meant

To be gazed at like a leper-

See my wounds, poke my sores.

It’s a space for my heart

To release the trapped thoughts 

Ruminating ’round my head.

To untie the knotted

Feelings and illusions

That spring from the darkness

Of my untrained mind and

There’s no escape except

This shifting terrain of

Empty paper to pen.

But, no, “just because” is

No reason to expose

My heart for casual 

Eyes or minds…idle in

Their observance, hasty

In their personal ends.

Better left unexposed

To be felt, then written,

Then never seen again.

Processed, released – careful

They don’t find life in you,

Begin their burrowing

Until they reach the core

A pressure formed within.

No, better kept quiet-

If you hear a knocking

Best not to let them in.

Leave a comment