Don’t Hold Back

Generated after a funeral. Advice from me to me…and you.

You only get that moment 

Make it count

Say it, say it all.

Don’t worry about being nice

Regret will cause

You to ruminate 

On what you should have

Said or done, too late.

Use time wisely, cunningly

Be authentic, be bold…

The sun always rises,

But never on the same day twice.

Oh, I am so stupidly politely,

And this lion roars in me

That I hold back because

I don’t want to bite you

I have torn to shreds those I love

And they leave, broken.

I am tired of letting anger

Break bonds amongst us.

Let me speak plainly:

Tell him, her, it hurt you-

If they don’t care, what do you lose?

If they do care, what do you gain?

Say I love you, I want you, I can’t anymore.

Look them in the eye

So that they know you see them

And tell them how much they mean.

Put it all out on the table.

Be brave even if you 

Feel your heart collapsing,

Your stomach churning,

Your body trembling.

Don’t muzzle your roar, love.

Let your heart stand and speak-

They will never be HERE to listen again.

© H.H.

Leave a comment