A Love Note

My vows, my word,

Mixed together

With ash and blood,

Ashes for all I have been.

My life’s blood for all I have known.

A paste made up of

Spiritus Vitae, bone.

I know, I know – 

God…I am so heavy,

So serious, intense, severe.

I mean well.

I wish I could lighten up,

Like the way I feel when I am with you,

Everywhere in my life.

A bubble of light, gentle,

Iridescent, radiant with Joy,

But you chose me:

Emotional, passionate

Controlling, complicated.

Sometimes gentle and nourishing,

Sometimes dark and intemperate,

Always loving, fiercely so.

Union entered into with nerves, hope-

Learning how mountains are grown

– or tumbled-

There is always a choice.

It’s not easy to love

The sharp edges of my soul,

Like it’s easy with you,

And yet you do.

I don’t know why

I can be so sharp and so soft-

But you love me all the same.

This is the part of love

I didn’t really know, 

Didn’t really believe – 

That I could be loved,

All of the bad,

All of the good-

Until you.

Leave a comment